small head 4

Home>>Catholic Relics

Reliquary theca with relics of St. Francis of Assisi & 7 Saints: St. Alphonsus Maria de' Liguori, St. Andrew Avellino, St. John Joseph of the Cross, St. Paschal Baylon, St. Anne, St. Cirus, & St. Mary Frances of the Five Wounds

Silver reliquary theca housing substantial first and second-class relics of St. Francis of Assisi and 7 Saints: St. Alphonsus Maria de' Liguori, St. Andrew Avellino, St. John Joseph of the Cross, St. Paschal Baylon, St. Anne, Mother of the Blessed Virgin Mary, St. Cirus, Martyr, and St. Mary Frances of the Five Wounds. The relics are affixed to a blue-green background and identified on a typographic cedula labels On the back, under a protective cap, the theca is secured with perfectly preserved seal of red Spanish wax bearing an imprint of a coat of arms of Archbishop Fr. Tommaso Michele Salzano (†1890), Titular Bishop of Tanis & Auxiliary Bishop of Napoli (1854-1893).

Saint Francis of Assisi (†1226), was an Italian Roman Catholic friar and preacher who founded the men's Order of Friars Minor, the women's Order of Saint Clare, the Third Order of Saint Francis and the Custody of the Holy Land. Francis is one of the most venerated religious figures in history. He is a Holy Patron of animals; the environment; Italy; merchants; San Francisco, California, Naga City, Cebu, tapestry workers.  

Saint Alphonsus Maria de' Liguori, C.Ss.R. († 1787), was an Italian Catholic bishop, spiritual writer, and theologian who founded the Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer (the Redemptorists). In 1762 he was appointed Bishop of Sant'Agata dei Goti. A prolific writer, he published nine editions of his Moral Theology in his lifetime, in addition to other devotional and ascetic works and letters. Among his best known works are The Glories of Mary and The Way of the Cross, the latter still used in parishes during Lenten devotions. He was canonized in 1839 by Pope Gregory XVI. Pope Pius IX proclaimed him a Doctor of the Church in 1871. One of the most widely read Catholic authors, Alphonsus Liguori is the patron saint of confessors.

Saint Andrew Avellino († 1608) was an Italian saint. Born at Castronuovo, a small town in the province of Potenza Basilicata, his baptismal name was Lancelotto, which out of love for the cross he changed into Andrew when he entered the Order of Theatines. He is a patron of Naples, Sicily and invoked against sudden death.

Saint John Joseph of the Cross (†1739) was an Italian priest and a professed member from the Order of Friars Minor who hailed from the island of Ischia off the coast of Naples. He had a reputation for austerity and for the gift of miracles.He was beatified under Pope Pius VI in 1789 and was later canonized as a saint on 26 May 1839 under Pope Gregory XVI. His feast day is commemorated on March 5th.

Saint Paschal Baylon (†1592) was a Spanish friar and is a saint in the Roman Catholic Church noted for his strict austerities which he imposed upon himself as well as his love for and compassion towards the ill but best known for his strong and deep devotion to the Eucharist. Pope Paul V beatified him in 1618 while Pope Alexander VIII canonized him later in 1690. He is known as the "Seraph of the Eucharist" and is the patron saint of Eucharistic congresses and Eucharistic associations.

Saint Anne was the mother of Mary and grandmother of Jesus according to apocryphal Christian and Islamic tradition. She is a holy patron of Canada, carpenters; childless people; equestrians; grandparents; homemakers/housewives; lace makers; lost articles; Fasnia (Tenerife); Mainar; Detroit; miners; mothers; moving house; old-clothes dealers; poverty; pregnancy; seamstresses; stablemen; sterility; mothers; and children.

Saint Cyrus (†ca. 304 AD) was a Christian Martyr venerated together with Saint John, Martyr. They are especially venerated by the Coptic Church and surnamed Wonderworking Unmercenaries because they are supposed to have healed the sick free of charge. Their feast day is celebrated by the Copts on the sixth day of Tobi, corresponding to 31 January, the day also observed by the Eastern Orthodox Church and they are commemorated in the Roman Martyrology. The Eastern Orthodox Church celebrate also the finding and translation of their relics on 28 June.

Saint Mary Frances of the Five Wounds, T.O.S.F. (Italian: Maria Francesca delle Cinque Piaghe, (†1791), was an Italian member of the Third Order of St. Francis, who is honored as a saint in the Catholic Church. She is said to have received the wounds of the stigmata and suffered patiently many physical afflictions and spiritual trials. She would wear gloves to cover the marks on her hands, while she did her work. She is also said to have had visions of Saint Raphael the Archangel, who healed her of several afflictions. She was beatified by Pope Gregory XVI in 1843 and soon canonized by Pope Pius IX on in 1867. She is a holy patron of Quartieri Spagnoli of Naples (co-patron); Gallo World Family Foundation; expectant mothers; and women seeking to have children and Her feast day is celebrated on 6 October. In 2001, her remains were transferred from the Church of Santa Lucia to the house where she had spent the last half of her life. It is now the Shrine of St. Mary Frances of the Five Wounds. It is still a common practice for expectant mothers to go there to be blessed with her relic. Many votive offerings from mothers who credit her with their successful deliveries are displayed in the sanctuary.

Additional Info

  • ID#: 05-RSMR-5
  • Size: 54 x 45 mm
  • Age: ca. mid-19th century
  • Origin: Italy
  • Materials: silver
  • Price: SOLD!
  • Silver

SAVE 5% from your first purchase when you subscribe to receive our infrequent mailings with updates on new arrivals, exclusive offers, and fascinating stories on relevant subjects. 

Please wait